24 Years’ Wait

Thought of penning my thoughts here after so long. I can’t believe the agony most people must have felt for days after voting. Every rationale and sane voter was at the verge of going ballistic if the lesser votes parties combined to form government.

I am happy that our prayers are answered. I was telling my friends, Anwar Ibrahim was demonised and unceremoniously sacked back in 1998. At that time, I was in college. I remembered sitting in the bus, stuck in horrendous jam and looking out at a large group of people congregating at Dataran Merdeka and near Masjid Jamek area.

At that point of time, there was no social media. The only thing we sent was sms. The news were not as timely or in real time like now. Only found out about it the next day on the front page of the newspapers. All newspapers were still in physical paper and not online. Online only had selected pieces of news, mostly already being published on hard copies.

Those were the days. We all were sucked into spins of lies by Tun M then. There were ridiculous reports on TV, played out like some HK dramas, bringing a mattress to court with semen stains and all the nonsense that during that time, were such a shocker. Come to think of it, at that time I wasn’t so politically literate. I just registered to vote at age 20 in 1996 when my mom told us we must register to vote, otherwise we will not be able to apply for loans. Lol. It was quite blissful being ignorant.

With the start of Internet, chatting with new found friends on mIRC and ICQ, I was beginning to learn about politics (apart from flirting with strangers). I educated myself more when news are more readily available online.

I also picked up information from a doctor whom I worked with after leaving school as a clinic nurse.

I first voted in year 2004. It was the year where Badawi was fielded as PM candidate. I remember the euphoria of not having Tun M as PM after so long. I remember thinking there is only one PM for Malaysia and that is Dr Mahathir. I thought he will live forever. He probably would! He has been the only PM ever since I was studying in kindergarten till I started working for God’s sakes! Time to retire!

Well, I just want to share the feeling of ecstacy and delight after waiting 24 years for Anwar to be PM. Honestly, I don’t really favour him much back then especially when he introduced bahasa Malaysia baku (f*#@ this shit!) and all other issues which I don’t even remember now. I only remember I had to search for the meaning of cronyism and nepotism after he made a speech, weeks before he was supoosed to be PM to replace Tun M. Not long later after the fiery speech, he was thrown to police lock up.

Hopefully Malaysia will rise this time, away from racial and religious politics, focus fully on the development and retention of talents, be kind to the environment, give stateless children citizenship, reduce costs of living, fight for equality for people who are not like us regardless of skin color, religion, sex preferences, bank account balance and mental capabilities.

All the best Malaysia! đŸ‡²đŸ‡¾ KITA BOLEH!

What do you think?